Helpless Yet Hopeful

The sky must be falling.  I feel as though I’m trapped inside of a snow globe that’s still being shaken; but I’ve prepared myself with knee pads and a helmet- way to think ahead!  But my elbows are getting pretty banged up, and my ankles are all scratched and bloody and tears of sadness pour down my face for the shaking doesn’t stop and I cannot help ease the pain.  I feel helpless. 

And just as my body prepares to retreat into a ball at a final attempt to soften the never ending blows, my world is set down on a side table next to a beautiful sky blue ceramic lamp shining brightly on me as I finally begin to relax my clutched hands and remove my helmet. 

I never expected to see another beautiful day, but now I know to expect the unexpected.

-Leah Joy, The Zenful Blogger

P.S. This is dedicated to all the people I love who are in the middle of their own darkest storm.  I love you and know that I’m thinking about you.

One thought on “Helpless Yet Hopeful

Leave a Reply

