The Safety Dance and Other Creative Roads to Recovery

Dance.  It was, has been and will always be my life.  It’s like a breath of fresh air when my lungs have been doused in polluted shit for what seems like an eternity.  I can breathe fully.

To have dance removed from my life is like learning how to speak again after the muscles and tendons in my jaw have been replaced with sand.  There’s only acknowledgement of a major change and frustration fills the areas where familiarity used to live.  The putting on of the helmet and the strapping on the seat belt.  The expression that was has now turned into a loss for words even though the thought behind those words still hovers in my sore throat.  Hovering is so annoying.

And to find my voice once again is a miracle.  Maybe not the religious type of miracle but a gift just the same.  I am dancing again through fresh eyes and a fresh mouth (fuck I fucking missed this feeling!) and the expression I choose to wear on my face and on my sleeve is pure, unadulterated and devoted passion and love, sweet love for the dance.

-Leah Joy, The Zenful Blogger

2 thoughts on “The Safety Dance and Other Creative Roads to Recovery

  1. Hell yeah…sometimes people ask why I’m always dancing and I tell them “one day I won’t be able to…and when that day comes I won’t be sad about passing up the chances I had.” I’m glad you got your groove back!

Leave a Reply

