MUGGED & ROBBED

Friends-

This morning at approximately 10:15am coming out of the 55th Street and 7th Avenue (Northwest exit/entrance) Subway, I was mugged by a dude in a gray hoodie. It seems he had followed me from the subway car all the way out of the subway and managed to unzip my backpack without me hearing or feeling anything. I had sensed someone was tailing very close behind me and turned around quickly to find this guy literally standing right there in front of me! He immediately did an about-face on the step to which I yelled “HEY” as loud as I could tapping him furiously on the shoulder. This was probably not the smartest thing I could have done. He turned back around to face me and grabbed both my shoulders in an attempt to either shake me or get around me. He did neither. And the in the next moment he turned around and took off back down the stairs into the Subway Station.

I called the police and filed a report, canceled my bank and credit cards; the usual stuff you should do when you get your wallet stolen. Within 15 minutes this guy had already charged 5 different transactions on 4 different cards in 2 different cities. Wow.

Ladies (and friends who have Ladies as friends): Keep your belongings in your sight at all times when you’re traveling, sitting in a restaurant/cafe, or anywhere else for that matter.

I’m OK- a little shook up, but fine. Please let this be a reminder to you- it SUCKS that this happened to me and it would be really sad to learn if this happened to any of you.

Keep on keepin’ on and BE SAFE!

Leah Joy

8 thoughts on “MUGGED & ROBBED

  1. omg, Leah!
    I’m so glad you’re ok and weren’t hurt.
    cc cards and all that stuff can be replaced, but you can’t.
    Unbelievable!
    Stay awake out there, baby girl, and for God’s sake, be careful.
    I love you,
    dad

  2. Ack, sorry for the frightening event! I’ve been thinking about this lately as I’m traveling by BART, weighed down with commute bags and distractions. Be safe and well, my friend!

Leave a Reply

