TZB Project 365 (Day 46) – Tenacity


Three days ago I had to cancel my very first scheduled Zenful Dance Meetup because I didn’t have enough attendees to cover my cost for the teacher and the rental cost for the room. The Husband (who promotes concerts for a living) suggested I partner up with someone in the meditation/yoga world who already has a large following and understands how to target the market. Upon hearing this suggestion, I agreed and put it out “there” into the ol’ Universe.

Yesterday as I was walking upstairs out of the Subway, who do I see standing directly in front of me, alone on his cell phone, but only one of the biggest names in meditation in the modern world! My my, does the Universe work quick or what?!! Sure enough, there he was, standing directly in front of me just outside of his limousine. Our eyes connected but I continued to walk towards my original destination because he was on the phone and I didn’t want to interrupt his call.

I was walking away from him, I turned around to wave (with my hands in gassho or prayer) and he waved with one hand back to me but of course I kept on walking because he was on the phone!

As I turned the corner and lost him from view, I started to become deeply disappointed in myself for not staying and waiting for him to finish his call so I could speak with him. Feeling torn, I continued towards my destination and started to sob. Thoughts like “What is wrong with me? I know better than to walk away from asking for what I want! I’m supposed to take action!” and “With all the great sales techniques I practice everyday, why would I choose to throw it all away in the moment when it is most important??” but excused myself with “He’s on the phone! It’s rude to hang around and wait!”. I cried and cried and cried for about an hour.

Thank goodness for my good friend Lisa who consoled me and said that if I really wanted to get in touch with him, I would do it, no matter what it would take. And at dinner, my good friend Christina mentioned she knows someone who knows him and could reach out. Thank GOODNESS for my friends!

So today I went to his website and emailed him. I told him who I was and that we saw each other yesterday but explained I did not want to interrupt his call. I told him about Zenful Dance and that I have a dream of bringing it to people on a global scale. I put it out “there” again.

And now, I hope to hear from him but in the meantime, I’ll keep doing what I always do:

Keep on keepin’ on,

Leah Joy, The Zenful Blogger

Leave a Reply

