TZB Project 365 (Day 29) – Auditioning for Life’s Work

Hey Zenful Dancers! What is your life’s work? Do you know? Have you defined it (yet)? How do we go about narrowing it all down? What determines the goal? Strategies, then tactics? Are you planning on making a plan or has the plan already been put into action? Is it important to have a plan? I believe it is.

The Free Dictionary defines life-work as “the chief or entire work of a person’s lifetime”. I’m not entirely sure I can make a decision now that will sum up my entire life. But maybe that’s not what’s being asked of us.

Where do I begin? Some say it’s best to work backwards. Some say chunking-it-down is the key. Visualization works successfully for a lot of folks. I’m sure I could pay a bunch of money to have somebody tell me what my life’s work is. There are probably a hundred sound techniques out there to figure it out. Instead of trying these other ways first, I thought it would be good if I just auditioned for the part of life’s work, so I wrote a script in order to work it all out. I’ve never heard of this technique before (to me, I think I just made this up), but someone out there has probably already tried it with great success. 🙂

Scene: It’s a Tuesday afternoon. A well-lit, high school classroom with a few desks arranged at the head of the room to create space in the middle for those auditioning. Life sits at the front of the room in one of the desks. Work walks in.

Life: State your name for the record please.

Work: My name is Work. I’m from New York City.

Life: Aha, and tell us why you are here today.

Work: Well… I’m here to audition for the part of Life’s Work. I feel it’s a big part to play (well, the biggest actually) and I really feel I’m up for the role at this point in my career.

Life: Ok. And what piece are you going to read for us today?

Work: It’s called “Memoirs Of A Dust Ball”, Chapter 1, by Leah Joy.

Life: Sounds interesting. Please begin.

Work: My whole life I’ve been swept under the rug or caught in a corner only to be swept under a rug again. Pieces of me have blown away over the years, while other pieces have joined up with me at certain points. I’ve waxed and waned too many times to count. One time, what seems like decades ago, I thought the end was near. I had dwindled down to only a spec of dust- just one gust of wind and I’d be a memory. But the wind never came and I accumulated new parts again until I was a healthy, hairy, dirty dust ball. It was then that I realized that waxing or waning and the location of where I was swept made little difference to me in the larger scope of things. My life’s purpose: to be the best and happiest dust ball I can be. Throughout any inevitable changes, I choose to focus only on what is in my control. This is my life’s purpose. This is my life’s work.

Life: The topic you’ve chosen is really quite apropos for this audition.

Work: Yes, I wanted to stick with the theme.

Life: Tell me, why should I give you this part?

Work: I’m coming to you as an expert. No one can play this part better! I already know what Life’s Work is, because I am Life’s Work.

End of Scene.

I don’t think it’s enough for us to know we are our life’s work. I think it’s much more important to know that there is no destination; it’s that we’ve already arrived. That’s my plan. I feel we must honor that!

What do you think? What’s your plan?

-TZB

One thought on “TZB Project 365 (Day 29) – Auditioning for Life’s Work

Leave a Reply

