TZB Project 365 (Day 14) – How to Smile Without Really Trying

WARNING: THIS BLOG POST IS NOT FOR THE FAINT OF HEART OR FOR ZENFUL DANCERS WITHOUT A SENSE OF HUMOR.

Trying to smile is disingenuous. It looks fake. I’ve been guilty of it. Growing up, my brother was infamous for it. The Husband still can’t seem to take a nice picture. Every time a photo-opp crosses my path, I put this ridiculous expression on my face and hope for the best. 3 days later I’ve been tagged on Facebook and the picture of my supposed smile resembles something like a psycho killer or even worse- like I’ve been constipated for three months!

I’ve been doing a little smile experimenting and this seems to work great! The next time you have an opportunity to smile-on-demand, try this first:

1. Take a deep breath in and as you exhale relax your body and the muscles in your face.
2. Gently close your eyes and for a second or two and become introspective.
3. Think of doing

The Zenful Blogger Genuinely Smiling

For Realz

something really funny (NOTE: ONLY THINK) while embracing your fellow picture poser.
4. Since you’re already smiling, just open your eyes for the picture.

Did it work?

What??!! Do you have a better idea? Care to share? If so, please comment below.

-TZB

One thought on “TZB Project 365 (Day 14) – How to Smile Without Really Trying

Leave a Reply

