TZB Project 365 (Day 13) – A Holistic Conquest of a Cold, The Zenful Blogger’s Story

Up until two years ago, every year around this time I’ve had a tendency to get the sniffles, followed by a cold, followed by an indescribable case of phlegm (well I won’t describe it to you anyway), followed by bronchitis. It’s always sucked mostly because I hate being sick but also because I’m a terrible spitter. I can’t spit well. You know how the boys in school always had spitting contests? I never partook. So due to my lack of spitting experience, when I get all phlegmy, I can’t spit it out. So it just sits and gathers in my lungs, having a gooey ol’ time at my expense. (Gross!)

Years back, one of my belly dance students had told me about the Neti pot. She swore by it; said she never got sick. Finally, one phlegmy day, a couple of years ago, I went to the drugstore and invested a 20-spot on this little plastic teapot that came fully equipped with an artillery of salt solution. I went home rinsed out my nose and never turned back. Now when I get a cold, the buck stops at a cold. It doesn’t really last longer than a day or two and I don’t get chest colds any more because I rinse it out before it has a chance to visit my lungs!

A few weeks ago the Husband said he read an article about two folks who rinsed their noses using tap water that happened to contain brain-eating amoebas and let’s just say it didn’t end well. I’m no doctor, but might I recommend using clean water: boiled (and cooled) tap or filtered water or distilled water for your nose-rinsing activities and make sure it’s room temp to lukewarm? I swear by it! For more information, check this out: http://www.neti-netti-pot.com/neti-pot-water.html and this: http://www.neti-netti-pot.com/neti-pot-how-to-video.html

Keep on keepin’ on and keep your nose clean,

-Leah Joy, The Zenful Blogger

3 thoughts on “TZB Project 365 (Day 13) – A Holistic Conquest of a Cold, The Zenful Blogger’s Story

Leave a Reply

