Counting Down to Day 5 (Day 124 out of 129) of the Middle Path Makeover – Transition

What a lovely experience this cleanse has turned out to be! I truly feel more relaxed, less stressed, happier, lighter and more peaceful.

A few things I should come clean and clear about (couldn’t help the pun!) :

A few years ago my 13-year dance career ended while during a dance studio performance with my student I was accidentally dropped during a lift. The result was 3 herniated discs in my neck and the accident nearly killed my spirit. I had danced since I was 3 years old; a 28-year run.

Fortunately, I had a business background in Music and was able to change industries full-time which allowed me to support myself while still being “around” the arts.

Unfortunately, with a major decrease of physical activity due to my injury and constant pain, combined long hours at the office accompanied by a lot of stress (a lot of it self-induced), my overall well-being and health began to decline. Even with my morning meditation practice and weekly acupuncture appointments, things were getting worse. By last Fall, I decided to finally seek out three well-respected medical professionals to diagnose/confirm the medical issues I was dealing with: joint and muscle pain, severe digestive problems, hair loss, weight gain, depression, exhaustion and the list goes on and on. Talk about having a hard time.

By December of last year I was diagnosed with both Endometriosis and Celiac’s Disease (an issue I had been dealing with since I was a little girl but had worsened and I finally took the required tests). By January, I had surgery to remove the endometrial tissues. And by February, (and the Jury is still out on this one), I was embarking on a diagnosis of an autoimmune disorder; most likely Hashimoto’s Disease, a type of Hypothyroidism or under-active thyroid.

The diagnoses were welcomed news for me in order to understand where I stood. I knew that if I didn’t make some serious changes in my life, things would most likely stay the same or worsen. I knew I couldn’t afford to have that happen.

Hence my Middle Path Makeover idea was sparked and the 129-day project was born. For a 124 days straight I have worked diligently to find my balance. Tomorrow is my first day back on solid food and I see it as a chance to begin again. I have given myself permission to transition into the person that I am, authentically; not the person everybody else wants me to be. The 129-project will culminate on my 35th birthday this Sunday. And then I can say with a lot of gusto, Happy Birthday to me!

Keep on keepin’ on,

-Leah Joy, The Zenful Blogger

P.S. Feedback? Comments? Reply to this blogpost or email me here: leahjoy@zenfuldance.com

2 thoughts on “Counting Down to Day 5 (Day 124 out of 129) of the Middle Path Makeover – Transition

  1. Im so proud of your shared commitment to your goals in rediscovering your balance and coming out of (almost) 129 days still blogging with humor, honesty, candidness and transparency. You’re an inspiration to me and as well as I feel I know you, I’ve learned a lot about you, Leah Joy, my Zenfull Blogger. Congratulations on your amazing accomplishments and dedication to yourself.

Leave a Reply

