Counting Down to Day 35 (Day 94 out of 129) of the Middle Path Makeover – It’s the Little Things

When you’ve done something a very long time, it can eventually become difficult to find enjoyment in it. So I look for the small pleasures. Discovering humor in the idiosyncracies of life can be fun!

I often laugh at my thoughts when meditating some really bizarre shit comes up. It’s been nearly twelve years since I started my practice and although I’ve gained far more awareness along the way, some days sitting on my cushion can still be just as frustrating as it was years ago when I was just starting out.

Sometimes it’s helpful to go back to the basic techniques. The reinforcement of foundation can be refreshing and often I find it brings new perspective. It does require discipline but it can be really valuable.

And so I notice the little things. I really (try) and see them. Appreciate them for what they are and also what they aren’t.

Keep on keepin’ on and keep appreciating the small stuff,

-Leah Joy, The Zenful Blogger

Leave a Reply

