Counting Down to Day 45 (Day 84 out of 129) of the Middle Path Makeover – Meditation on the Move

When you’re on the go as much as I am, I find it’s often really grounding to be able to bring my meditation practices with me. My zafu and zabuton (meditation cushions) don’t pack up into my carry-on very well. Here are several sites I’ve found to be easily accessible, especially when traveling:

YogaDownload – I’ve bought 45-minute and 60-minute classes in several styles of Yoga for about $5 or $6 bucks. I download them onto my thumbdrive and take them with me to play on my laptop. The instructors are solid and YogaDownload even offers free 20-minute downloads if you want to try a style first.

Vipassana.org – This is a fantastic organization and their website offers information and even online training in the Theraveda Buddhist tradition. I love getting their e-newsletters and find their information to be valuable and comprehensible, where many other websites on the subject tend to fall a bit short. They don’t spam.

The Mindfulness Bell – This is a FABULOUS free site that allows you to set online timers (mindfulness bells) on your computer in various intervals. No download is needed! I often use this site on my work computer to remind me to wake up and be present and in the moment.

Wzen.org – This is my very favorite internet radio station on the topic of Zen, broadcasting from the Mountains and Rivers Order in upstate New York. I haven’t tried it on my cell phone yet but I suspect it will also stream from a smartphone.

Keep on keepin’ on and keep on movin’,

-Leah Joy, The Zenful Blogger
P.S. I am recommending these websites to you because for me, they’re tried and true. No one is paying me to recommend these sites. Please enjoy and let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

