Counting Down to Day 58 (Or Day 71 out of 129) of The Middle Path Makeover Project – Choose Your Own Adventure

Do you ever feel like you’re living a page from one of the Choose Your Own Adventure books? I LOVE having options but sometimes it gets to be a bit ridiculous.

For example: I just made popcorn. Do I

A. Put salt on the popcorn?
B. Put salt AND I Can’t Believe it’s Not Butter spray on the popcorn?
C. Toss the whole thing in the garbage because it’s 11:30pm and probably too late to be eating popcorn?
D. Eat an orange with the popcorn?
E. Not eat the orange because it would taste sort of weird after eating popcorn?
F. Should I eat the popcorn kernels even though they look a little burnt?
G. Should I just eat the popcorn kernels that have popped open slightly because those are probably easier to eat without breaking a tooth and just leave the rest at the bottom of the bowl?

Yeah, it’s like that. And that’s just popcorn! And so I go through life often contemplating the little things, looking at all my options… but rarely knowing exactly what I want from the start. So much time has passed; so much time spent on looking at all my options, so fearful of potentially missing the mark.

Every so often I do this experiment where for a whole day, I act on my first instinct as long as it doesn’t hurt myself or anyone else. They are some of my most productive and fulfilling days. So I know it can be done for the little things. But what about the bigger stuff?

Sometimes I meet people in my life that are real go-getters. They are who they are because they have to be. That’s what they are! They don’t sit around contemplating it. They ARE “it”. They chose their destinies and everything else surrounding their lives helps to support the choices they’ve made.

So I’ve decided to choose my own adventure on a bigger scale. If down the road I feel as though I’m missing something in life, then I’ll reevaluate at that time. But looking at all my options right now (at this point) is just slowing me down.

I am the Zenful Blogger. Wow, that feels empowering! I’ll say it again. I am the Zenful Blogger. 🙂

-Leah Joy, The Zenful Blogger

P.S. Choose it. Own it.

Leave a Reply

