Counting Down to Day 64 (out of 129) of The Middle Path Makeover – Inner Niceness

So generally speaking, I’m the nice guy (well girl, as luck would have it). I’m the gal that everybody says is so nice and sweet and kind and loving and agreeable and easy to get along with. I’m the person that everyone knew in high school as their friend. Yeah, I’m that girl- not really a pushover, but very easy going and maybe not so very discerning. I’m also the person that not-so-nice people like to take advantage of because they think they can get away with it. They think I won’t say anything. They think I won’t do anything. They think that maybe I don’t know what time it is, when clearly, I do. I know exactly what time it is. I wear a watch and carry not one, but two cell phones, both of which consistently sync in “satellite” time. The joke is on those guys.

Okay, so I maybe venting here but the trick (I’m beginning to learn) is to be nice to myself first. Be sweet and kind and loving and respectful to myself first. Be disciplined and set boundaries for myself. When I practice my inner niceness those other not-so-nice folks seem to back off without me really having to do much at all. Very interesting.

I know what time it is. It’s 12:15am and I’m going to nicely lay down and go to sleep.

Keep on keepin’ on and treasure your niceness,

-Leah Joy, The Zenful Blogger

One thought on “Counting Down to Day 64 (out of 129) of The Middle Path Makeover – Inner Niceness

  1. What is a good man but a bad man’s teacher?
    What is a bad man but a good man’s job?
    If you don’t understand this, you will get lost,
    however intelligent you are.
    It is the great secret.

    – Lao Tzu – Tao Te Ching Vs 27

    Tempting to be the bad man… but somehow always wind up on the side of being the teacher. Could we get maybe a one week pass to be the bad man? eh… probably not.

Leave a Reply

