Counting Down to Day 71 of The Middle Path Makeover – Connected to Family

I am fortunate to be able to say that I am very close with my family, but I have one of those families whose immediate members are pretty spread out. We’ve got Mom and Dad in California, Brother in Japan and yours truly in New Jersey. As far away as we all are, we’ve managed to keep each other updated by any means necessary: the usual suspects A.K.A. online social networking channels, email, instant messaging, Skype (no they didn’t pay me to write this), phone calls when the time zones make sense and smoke signals (although with the frequent wind changes, this tactic can be very challenging). Hell, we even snail mail once in a while (I had to actually purchase these little square things called stamps that they used in the olden days!!!).

But seriously, thank goodness for all the channels of communication, because when it comes to my loved ones, I would figure out braille or Morse code if it was necessary in order to tell them how much I love them.
And then, there is this blog. This is where I get to make a public proclamation of my love: Mom! Dad! Brother!! I love you so much! I am so very fortunate to have you in my life because you make it so much more real, more interesting, more connected and grounded, way funnier and by far, more loving. I am so lucky to be related to you. I’m not adopted, am I?

If you have family (that you love), I’d love to hear about how you stay connected.

Keep on keepin’ on and keep in touch,

-Leah Joy, The Zenful Blogger
P.S. This post is dedicated to my brother: I’m sending lots of love to you through the internet 33 times over and 1 for good luck. Happy Birthday Bro! 🙂

Leave a Reply

