Counting Down to Day 81 (Day 49) of The Middle Path Makeover – Clean Eats

This is surely a topic that takes volumes upon volumes of books to cover but frankly I just don’t have that kind of time. Clean eating is one of the few ways I know to clear up some of my health problems- fast! Many years ago, I had developed a chronic bronchial infection and a skin rash on my ankle (it turned out to be black mold from the apartment I was living in). The Doctors dismissed it as asthma and razor burn and I quote ” It might be time to change your razor”. Are you kidding me? I knew it was time to try something else so I researched different kinds of cleanses and found an Ayurvedic cleanse that I felt suited me best (No Master Cleanse for me, thank you very much!). I quickly moved out of my apartment thanks to all the help from my mom and friends, and within 3 weeks, I felt better. No joke. I was breathing fine. The rash went away- actually all of my skin cleared up completely! I lost 11 pounds, which I thought was a nice bonus. I also learned that I’m allergic to wheat and sensitive to dairy. So incredibly interesting and successful! So I got to watch the cleanse work on me first-hand. It wasn’t easy to stick to, but I did and it was absolutely worth it.

So here I am again. I’ve fallen into another health predicament. I’m considering repeating this cleanse so I can feel better (and more normal) in my skin again. And so I’m opening this forum up to you fine folks to read your thoughts and feelings on the matter. If you have a cleanse that rocked your world, or perhaps you just always eat clean, I would love to hear your stories, recipes and feedback. I know you have them. Everyone has an opinion on this subject, right? Can’t wait to hear from you!

Keep on keepin’ on and keep it clean if you can,

-Leah Joy, The Zenful Blogger

4 thoughts on “Counting Down to Day 81 (Day 49) of The Middle Path Makeover – Clean Eats

  1. Very interesting. I completely believe in the power of nutrition and how it affects your mind, body, spirit. A great book and diet that we’ve done before is one called The Fast Track Detox Diet by Ann Louise Gittleman. I’ve done it about 3 times and always feel great while on it and afterwards so I recommend it. You can find it on Amazon by doing a search.

  2. I’m not sure if this will help, but I observed (yes, it was quite a commitment!) a Sattvik diet for almost two years some time ago… It felt very cleansing and purifying, yet it also left me a bit more sensitive to allergies/asthma. A few years later I tried Chinese medicine for several years, and that seemed to have the most profound – and lasting – effect. The first was a huge investment of time and effort (and a complete surrender of the pleasures of eating out!), and the second was a huge financial effort. I’m still sensitive to wheat and dairy, but at least now the reaction is slower and more manageable! Best wishes, I hope you find a happy means of quieting those reactions!

    • That is so admirable to me that you stuck with a Sattvik diet for 2 years!! I once tried an ayurvedic cleanse for 3 weeks about 5 years ago and that tried every bit of patience I had (although I constantly swear I never felt better than I did during those weeks). Sadly, I love eating out; mainly for the convenience. These days I find myself incredibly tight on time. I appreciate your sharing this experience me; it’s a great reminder to put good health first. I know it can be done and I know I must do something about my diet if I want my health to change. In kindness, -TZB

Leave a Reply

