Counting Down to Day 86 (out of 129) of the Middle Path Makeover – Good Stuff

Here’s some good stuff you can check out on your break:

MIND
The Three Pillars of Zen, by Phillip Kapleau Roshi. This is to date one of my favorite books on the subject Zen Buddhism. PLEASE NOTE: This isn’t a good “first” book to read on the subject of Zen, but it’s definitely the most thorough one on the subject I’ve read that I could really sink my teeth into. (I know, I know… I really should read the books, not eat them).
I have often felt that the majority of the world’s problems are due to miscommunication or lack thereof. Lisa B. Marshall is known as the Public Speaker and has a free podcast available on iTunes called the Public Speaker’s Quick and Dirty Tips for Improving Your Communication Skills. I adore Lisa. I’ve been following her Podcast consistently for about 2 years now. I’ve even taken 3 one-on-one coaching sessions with one of her coaches (a very valuable experience for me!). Lisa is very honest and very funny. I’m sure you will appreciate her candor as much as I do. Check her out!

BODY
Lee Holden is one of the newer (Western) Qigong teachers out on the market today, but I find his DVDs and teaching to be of great value and very simple to follow along. His 7 Minutes of Magic is AWESOME (yes you can actually feel a difference after 7 minutes) and he’s pretty easy on the eyes too. There’s an extended 16 minute version if you have a little more time to move around. I own 5 of his DVDs. I’m kind of obsessed. 🙂

SPIRIT
Adyashanti, one of the world’s renowned Western Buddhist teachers is touring throughout the US and England this year. If you have a chance to hear him speak or sign up for his intensive, you won’t be disappointed. Even his voice is meditative. I find him to be incredibly down to earth and full of integrity. He is a great teacher and guru to many.

SANGHA (COMMUNITY)
Donorchoose.org – From this site I was able to choose a school near my home that’s raising money for a classroom overhead projector and make a donation safely and securely. The teacher was able to post a thank you “reply” through the system even though I made an anonymous donation.
Big Brothers Big Sisters – This Organization offers a truly hands-on approach to making a positive difference in another person’s life, at an age where it really can help shape their future. They have chapters all over the Country. I just signed up for the Chapter closest to me!

Just so y’all know, no one organization, author, teacher or speaker I’ve listed here has ever sponsored me or the Zenful Blogger. I’ve chosen to pass all this good stuff along to you in hopes that you will find it as valuable and life-balancing as I do.

Good stuff.

-The Zenful Blogger

2 thoughts on “Counting Down to Day 86 (out of 129) of the Middle Path Makeover – Good Stuff

  1. Leah,

    Fantastic post! Thank you so much for the amazing list of resources! I’m actually reading “Emptiness Dancing” by Adyashanti now, I agree, he’s wonderful!

    I’m excited to check out Roshi’s book and Miss Marshall’s podcasts too, I can always use more insights into better communication, that is key ; )

    I did sign up with Donors Choose a couple months ago, and the first donation I made (a mere $10.00) was met by the teacher with such gratitude and joy, it was the best money I ever spent! I’m really fortunate to be involved with them!

    Thanks for inspiring us about Big Brothers Big Sisters, I have been looking for a good volunteer resource to work with children and that organization is great, I’m looking forward to getting involved!

    Thank you Leah for your hard work, your positive contributions and your inspiration!!! I’m grateful for you ; )

    Namaste,
    -B

Leave a Reply

