Counting Down to Day 87 (Day 43 out of 129) of the Middle Path Makeover – I Wanna Hold Your Hand

A Letter To Whom it May Concern:

I wanna hold your hand. I really do. I wanna lift you up when you’re feeling blue or down or whatever it is that you are. I wanna offer you food if you’re hungry and diffuse your anger when you’re mad. I wanna see you relax when you’re stressed out to the max and I wanna see you smile.

It’s nice to “wanna” things, but I can’t make anybody do anything they don’t want to do. Now, let’s read this very same letter in a different context:

A Letter To Myself:

I wanna hold your hand. I really do. I wanna lift you up when you’re feeling blue or down or whatever it is that you are. I wanna offer you food if you’re hungry and diffuse your anger when you’re mad. I wanna see you relax when you’re stressed out to the max and I wanna see you smile.

The same fact of the matter applies here: I can’t make myself do anything I don’t really wanna do, even if a part of me knows it’s good for me (you know, the part that actually knows better). So what’s the magic formula here? At what point does the part that knows better get switched “on” and take over permanently? When does all the “I wanna’s” become “I am’s”? What do I have to do around here to be relaxed and smiling all the time? (DON’T ANSWER THAT 🙂

We’re all adults here. When is hand-holding deemed unnecessary?

-Leah Joy, The Codependent, Self-Righteous, Extremely Funny, Hand-Holding Zenful Blogger

Leave a Reply

