Counting Down to Day 91 (Day 39) of the Middle Path Makeover – Cliches on Timing

Ah timing. They say it’s everything. Here’s a bunch of cliches on timing I’ve found surfing the interweb:

Too little too late
’til the cows come home
Out with the old, in with the new
Gut reaction
Go out on a limb
Timber!
Stop and smell the roses
There’s no time like the present
There’s always next year
Stuck in a rut
Older than dirt
Shit happens
Putting the cart before the horse
Once in a blue moon
Like there’s no tomorrow
Take one day at a time
Go with the flow
From dusk ’til dawn
Don’t put all your eggs in one basket
Closing the barn door after the horse escapes (I love this one!)
Caught between a rock and a hard place
If you build it they will come (one of my personal favorites:) )
As slow as molasses
Ashes to ashes, dust to dust

There’s quite a few of these cliches on timing out there, and I’m sure a lot more where they come from. I’m obviously in good company when I find myself putting so much importance on timing since I’m fairly certain we have a finite amount of it (in this life anyway). And so I leave you with this question to ponder: If we could do away with timing altogether and just rely on luck do you think we would be better off? There are quite a few cliches on luck too…

Keep on keepin’ on and catch you next time!

-Leah Joy, The Zenful Blogger

Leave a Reply

