Counting Down to Day 92 (Out of 129) of the Middle Path Makeover – Citizen Peace Results

You know when you’re running really late and everything (and anything) gets in your way to make you even later? That’s how today started out for me. I had AMPLE opportunities to practice peace today because pretty much everywhere I turned there was another “situation”.

I had every intention of waking up to say the word “Peace” but instead, “Shit! I’ve got to get going!!!” fell right out of my mouth! (Can somebody say, “Wah, waaaaah”). The funny thing is, I never wake up saying that. Weird.

After morning meditation, I lit incense and played a little Japanese wooden flute music on the stereo while I was getting ready for work. I made a cup of tea and watered my plants (I have 8 houseplants). At this point, I really felt like I was embodying peace.

And then the fun really began. A 2 week-old scratch on my ankle that was almost healed suddenly started itching like crazy and I went to attack the itch and then stopped. I remembered being Citizen Peace means being peaceful with oneself, not just others. Work was long and challenging today, to say the least. But I received several chances to close my eyes and release tension in my neck, jaw and shoulders. Several chances to laugh at myself and believe me, I took them all! I was a real comedian today! 🙂

Interestingly enough, relating to others peacefully was easier than relating to myself peacefully. I was able to calm my breath or the tone of my voice and smile when I spoke and others would relate to me in the same fashion. Maybe I should get out of teaching meditation and start thinking about a career in politics!

Anyway, this was a great day and I learned a lot. I think on some small level; it was a successful day. I’m looking forward to being a citizen of peace again really soon.

-Leah Joy, The Zenful Blogger

P.S. Has anyone tried this before? What was your experience like?

2 thoughts on “Counting Down to Day 92 (Out of 129) of the Middle Path Makeover – Citizen Peace Results

  1. yes, it’s a great practice! trying to maintain mindfulness (for me at least) at work instigates numerous dashes to the restroom (or conference room) for a few calming breaths, and that in turn helps the knots dissolve, lol! it makes for a nice cycle, and reminds itself of itself [:-)]

Leave a Reply

