Counting Down to Day 105 (Day 25) of The Middle Path Makeover – What Do You Stand For?

These days from at-a-glance, I can see what people would like to stand for. It’s either tattooed on them, or printed on the reusable tote bag that carries all of their surplus belongings that their primary bag can’t contain, which perhaps is an even bigger “tell” than what’s printed on the tote bag. The way some dress lets me know what kind of music they love, places they like to hang out and perhaps even which god they pray to. But tattoos, tote bags and clothing really just touch the surface of who we really are (no matter how permanent some of them may seem). What’s the meaning underneath all the layers?

I really try to practice being open to whatever the message really is. It usually surprises me. I hate judging a book by its cover for this very reason. If anyone is reading this post, I’d love for you to share about your experience(s) with this.

This is what I’d like to stand for (but really don’t most of the time):

Skinny, famous celebrity
A great friend/daughter/sister, who puts priority time aside for friends and family
World traveler
Buddhist (I still swear, eat meat on occasion, drink alcohol and coffee and don’t let things go as easily as I should)
And there are many, many more I could add to this list…

This is what I know I stand for:

Encourager of others to see the good in themselves, because I can see it.
Encourager of others to see the potential in themselves, because I can see it.
Peace in the midst of chaos and war.
Kindness and compassion even when it’s not the popular choice.
Love.

It’s a short list, but it’s my list. I’m pretty happy with it. 🙂

What do you stand for?

The Zenful Blogger

One thought on “Counting Down to Day 105 (Day 25) of The Middle Path Makeover – What Do You Stand For?

Leave a Reply

