Counting Down to Day 104 (Day 26) of The Middle Path Makeover

This Sunday morning was one of those mornings when I woke up earlier than I wanted to (the neighbors were making noise followed by an early Sunday work-related phone call for the Husband). Normally I wouldn’t make too much out of the interruptions but I woke up not feeling well… again. The not feeling too hot occurs fairly regularly with me. I wasn’t certain until tonight that I would post anything about my conditions, but since it’s a rare day that it doesn’t take a toll on my energy levels and plays a pretty substantial part in my life, I decided I would write a little about it.

You see, for most of my life I’ve known that something was wrong. It wasn’t until recent that I was diagnosed with Endometriosis and one out of the two tests for Celiac’s Disease tested positive (gluten allergy). I’ve seen quite a few doctors over the past 18 or so years who either misdiagnosed me or dismissed me altogether. Of course I would often leave the doctors’ offices feeling confused and frustrated that I wasn’t being listened to or didn’t have good-enough health insurance to cover a more thorough investigation.

At last, I found myself in the hands of a solid and trustworthy physician who was able to recommend other solid and trustworthy physicians (amazing how that works!). In a matter of just a few weeks, I’ve learned that I have 2 incurable BUT TREATABLE “issues”. Had I only learned this years ago, I would have been able to save myself all the pain, fatigue and discomfort (and money). But I digress, because that isn’t how it went down. I can only move forward from here. At least I know now and can do something about it.

I can choose to go Western medicine or Eastern, or Holistic, or all of the above. Either way, the bright side to not feeling well when I wake up in the morning is that those days are numbered. 🙂

If any of you fine folks out there are reading this and have a story you’d like to share, I’d love some company.

Good health and good night,

Leah Joy, The Zenful Blogger

2 thoughts on “Counting Down to Day 104 (Day 26) of The Middle Path Makeover

  1. Leah, I’m SO happy for you that you finally have a correct diagnosis, and now you can really move forward with you physical well-being. What a long path you were on to find this place, and I’m sure you must feel such a profound sense of clarity and optimism!

    Here’s to your health!
    -B

    • Thanks BBB! Thanks for such empathetic and kind words. You’ve witnessed me going through so much trial and error with my diet through the years and I remember you too had a bout with an illness. It can be scary shit not knowing what’s happening with our bodies. Much more relieving to be in the know. Love to you.

Leave a Reply

