Counting Down to Day 109 (Day 21) of The Middle Path Makeover – Doing My Best Work

I am what I like to refer to as a “loose planner”. Which means that nothing really turns out the way I saw it play out in my head when I was planning it in the first place. Hence, “loose”. Knowing this fun fact about myself helps me to take the whatever-it-is-I-will-make-the-best-out-of-it approach. Sure, even that doesn’t always go as planned. Sometimes it’s really challenging to make the best out of breaking an ankle 6 weeks before the wedding date (I totally blame the beer and the back porch steps- who put those there???). But the outcome was that I was forced to slow down and smell the tea leaves.

Sometimes it all turns out even better than I’d imagined like when I was invited to go see Cyndi Lauper at Radio City Music Hall and the next thing I know, I’m sitting on the stage in the wings watching one of my childhood idols perform from 10 feet away from me.

Whichever way the loose planning goes, I really do try to do my best. My favorite question to ask especially when things take a turn for the weird is, “What is the lesson that this is?”. I can’t remember where I ripped off that quote from but I’m pretty sure I can’t call it my own. In any case, it’s really a great question, don’t you think? It really stops me in my tracks. Instead of dwelling in the hardship (if that applies), I get to turn it into my best work, if I choose to see it that way.

I’m no Anthony Robbins (my teeth could never be that white), but I think the guy could be onto something big. 🙂

What’s your story?

Leah Joy, The Zenful Blogger

Leave a Reply

