Day 123 (Day 7) of The Middle Path Makeover – Anger Management

The other day my husband told me that Angry Bird is pretty much the number one mobile game app. It’s kind of horrifying to think that the number one game’s whole objective is to slingshot an angry bird into frogs and little green pigs and other things incessantly in order to get to the next level. I could almost draw a metaphorical parallel to life as a New Yorker, but I’ll try and hold back. 🙂 Needless to say, many of my co-passengers on the Subway are playing this game on their daily commutes- no doubt living out their real-life anger and frustrations vicariously through one, pretty angry bird. So it’s got me thinking: What are all these folks so pissed-off about? I can really only speak for myself. Broken promises. Unrealistic expectations of others and of myself. Unnecessary violence (isn’t almost all of it unnecessary?). Lack of compassion and empathy. I could probably go on for another hour listing all the things that make me angry, but what would be the point of that? We all get angry. It’s a normal, healthy, human emotion. It’s obvious it is how we deal with anger that makes a difference in our lives. In Buddhism, it’s not reacting. It’s noticing the feelings come up and sitting with that without acting out of anger. This is a very difficult thing to do especially when it would be easier to just give the guy the bird, the Angry Bird, that is. Are my fellow commuters onto something here? I wonder. But a few words on letting go: Just do it (if you can). It’s freedom in its finest hour.

So today marks the end of week 1 of the Middle Path Makeover. I feel good about it. I’ve been fairly consistent with everything on my daily list. I’m working towards a community service project for this Saturday; a fundraiser for Autism. My husband and I are entered into a cooking contest and the entry fees and funds raised all go towards research and support for Autistic children. I feel great about it. I will follow that experience up with a video blog. Look for that. Things seem to be moving in the right direction and that feels awesome!

Any questions? I’ve got one. Is anybody reading this?

Until tomorrow, keep on keepin’ on,

Leah Joy, the Zenful Blogger

Leave a Reply

