Day 126 (Day 4) of The Middle Path Makeover

New Year’s Day, 2011. Overall, a pretty quiet day. I wished a good friend a Happy Birthday and hung out with the Husband at our apartment. Went out to dinner at a local restaurant with a couple of friends. It was chill and just my speed.

I spent about 3 hours on a working meditation practice; a sewing project. I felt great doing it (I was “in the zone”; in the moment) and it was also really productive. Sitting meditation however was a struggle today. I kept wanting to scratch my nose. My brain obviously didn’t want to sit in nothingness and was throwing the old itch-in-the-nose distraction-tactic my way. Initially I told myself I wasn’t falling for that one again, but eventually I gave into the itch and scratched. I felt a sense of disappointment and relief at the same time, but then found the humor in that dichotomy and refocused on watching thoughts come and go.

Positive self-talk seems to be the larger challenge. The last few days I haven’t been very nice to myself (in my head)- way too critical. If somebody talked to me the way I talk to myself, I’d want to punch them which is not very Zenful of me, I know, and I wouldn’t of course, but I’d think about it for at least 3 seconds. Gotta work on the self-talk.

Diet went well today but exercise was next to nothing. I’ll be hitting the gym tomorrow and will consider upping my 20 minute-minimum to maybe twice that.

I practiced forgiveness without hoping for anything in return and was surprised by how much return I received. A very pleasant surprise indeed.

I’ve been thinking about what I’d like to do for my first Middle Path Makeover community service day which is fast approaching (Wednesday). Since I don’t have a lot of time to plan my own event (I have a full-time day job), it would be great to be a part of something that’s already happening. I’ve got a few ideas but if anybody out there is reading this, I’d love to hear your suggestions too. What would you do?

Until tomorrow, keep on keepin’ on.

Leah Joy, The Zenful Blogger

One thought on “Day 126 (Day 4) of The Middle Path Makeover

Leave a Reply

