Day 129 (Day 1): Launching The Middle Path Makeover

Today begins my 129-day countdown to what I’m calling the Middle Path Makeover. The Middle Path, also known as the Middle Way, is a Buddhist reference described as “a path of moderation between the extremes of sensual indulgence and self-mortification”. In other words, I want to share my ups and downs (on record) on my journey to revealing a more balanced mind, body, spirit and sangha (community).

I must admit that although I’m excited to embark on this project and eager to see how it all unfolds, I’m pretty nervous about the follow through. Mine’s never been very good. Aside from possibly disappointing anyone who might be reading this (is there anyone reading this?), I hate the idea of disappointing myself… again. Still, I am committed to giving this project my best effort. I’m hopeful that the results will be helpful, motivating, or perhaps even inspirational in promoting others to lead a self-awakened, balanced life.

I have created a daily plan to include the following:
Zazen sitting meditation a minimum of 10 minutes per day
Eating until I am full, not stuffed, and following a balanced diet program where I will track my food/activity
Positive self talk
Commit to working on a single task at a time
Do something kind for someone without expecting anything in return
Abstain from gossip
Abstain from reacting to anger I might experience
Exercise a minimum of 20 minutes per day

My weekly plan will also include:
Community service
Video Blog documenting my community service experience

You should know that I up until now, have only incorporated bits and pieces of this plan into my daily life with big gaping holes- hence, the balance hasn’t been there. I’m going to give this plan the ol’ college try so I invite you, whoever you are, to read along or even join me, if you wish. I’d love the company.

Here we go! 🙂

Leah Joy

10 thoughts on “Day 129 (Day 1): Launching The Middle Path Makeover

  1. I think ur makeover plan rocks. Thank goodness you dint fall into the ‘ i want to diet ‘ or ‘ I want to get slimmer ‘ trap. Yours is all about doing.. thats fantastic. This makes me wanna do a list like this too. But one thing i have decided in the coming year.
    WHATEVER I DO I WANT TO GET IT RIGHT THE FIRST TIME.

    no mistakes, corrections, iterations etc will be tolerated.. and if it happens I plan to get damn upset with myself 🙂 Let me blog on that.

    I look forward to your video blogs.. keep in your schemes on how ur ‘makeover’ progresses..

    Have a great year

    Benny

    • Thanks Benny! I hear you on the “get it right the first time” sentiment, for sure. It’s why I’ve set my list settings to “realistic” rather than setting myself up to fail. Baby steps, right? I think the pyramids were built one brick at a time… yada, yada, yada… anyhoo, you get the idea.
      If you do end up creating your own makeover, or just joining me, keep me posted! I’d love to hear how it goes for you.
      Peace and have a really great new year,
      LJ

      • LJ
        The first 3 weeks are crucial, when consistent activity with emotional arousal and focus, facilitates neuro allocation for accommodating a new activity or skill into ones life. I love your baby steps strategy, real baby steps.. surely will work.
        As for me, will surely keep u updated on what I have planned to do.. 36 hrs have gone by.. so go so far, I must say
        benny

      • Thank you for the encouragement Benny. Even with the baby steps I feel as if I’m already running out of steam and it’s only day 5. If I call myself a fake or a quitter at this point it would be the easy way out and it would also go against my no-negative self-talk policy. 🙂 So I don’t really want to quit. I’ll press on. Heck, I can make it to day 6! I think I can, I think I can…

  2. I love it! Your list is good and doable. I like that you’ve kept it reasonable so you can stick with it without feeling overwhelmed.

    Thanks for sending me the link, and Happy New Year!

  3. I have complete faith in you and in this project. One question…does this balanced diet include dark chocolate?

Leave a Reply

